Greater Owensboro Chamber Business Directory

Brad Youngman, Daviess County Sheriff



About Us

The Daviess County Sheriff's Office is the primary law enforcement agency for areas outside the Owensboro city limits and has countywide jurisdiction to include the cities of Owensboro and Whitesville as well as many unincorporated areas within the 483 square miles of Daviess County. Per Kentucky constitution, we are responsible for collection of taxes, civil process/warrant service, judicial security, inmate transportation and we participate on the county election board. The DCSO employs a staff of approximately 70 deputies and civilians. Each employee is assigned to one of 3 divisions within the office. The Patrol Division consists of 3 patrol shifts that provide 24-hour per day coverage as well as a part-time presence at the Regional Airport during operations. The Criminal Investigations Division is made up of the General Investigations Unit which investigates felony crimes and incidents that exceed the Patrol Division’s scope of operations, and the Special Investigations Unit which investigates drug and gang crime. DCSO also has Detectives assigned to the High Intensity Drug Trafficking Task Force and the US Marshals Fugitive Task Force and a Victims Advocate to safeguard a victim’s rights, mental health, and other needs during a case. The Administrative Division is responsible for hiring/training, the civilian staff, and the Court Security Unit. Many deputies also participate in additional duty units such as the Accident Reconstruction Unit, the Training Instructor Unit, the Drone Unit and serve on Volunteer Fire Departments.